February 29th, 2020 at 2:01 pm
Posted by pc in Uncategorized


7th Five Words Poetry Competition Winner and Shortlist Announced
29th February 2020

We’re thrilled to announce the winner of the 7th Five Words International Poetry Competition, for his poem Betty Fox is Skipping, is English poet Derek Sellen – and the first poet to win the competition for a second time!

Judges Afric McGlinchey and Michael Ray made their selection, along with the full shortlist of twelve poems, from 595 entries. All going well, Derek will read and take part in Ó Bhéal’s 13th anniversary event (13th April 2020), as will a number of other shortlisted poets at the launch of Five Words Vol XIII.

Congratulations to all of this year’s shortlisted poets and for two highly commended entries from Cliona O’Connell (Ireland) and Rosemary Norman (England).

Shortlist & Winner

Betty Fox is Skipping by   Derek Sellen (England) winner
Evolution  by   Cliona O’Connell (Ireland) highly commended
Automaton by   Rosemary Norman (England) highly commended
Father’s Day  by   Janice Bethany (USA)
Wise and Luminous  by   Ada Volynska (Ukraine)
Smoke Flares, Pyro Prayers by   Lucy Holme (Ireland)
The Boat Crane by   Sharon Phillips (England)
6am. River. Girl.   by   Fiona Ritchie Walker (England/Scotland)
To Paint Death as The
Mountain Pine Beetle
by   Michele Ring (France)
Bottled Lines,
Excellent Spirits
by   Ada Volynska (Ukraine)
A Small Bee Came to
Rest Upon My Hand
by   Margaret McCarthy (Ireland)
La Rue des Touettes  by   David W Evans (Jersey)

Judges: Afric McGlinchey and Michael Ray

Shortlisted poems will appear in Five Words Vol XIII, to be launched at Ó Bhéal on Monday the 13th of April 2020, along with the award presentation and readings from contributors.

The 8th Five Words International Competition will commence at noon on Tuesday the 14th of April, 2020. Due to a significant increase in submissions, the competition will be increasing its prize money.

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.