February 28th, 2024 at 11:34 am
Posted by pc in Uncategorized

Five Words Poetry Competition

11th Five Words Poetry Competition Winners and Shortlist Announced
28th February 2024

We are thrilled to announce the winners and shortlisted entries from Ó Bhéal’s 11th Five Words International Poetry Competition, judged by Theo Dorgan.

Our congratulations go to first place winner Derek Sellen for his poem against cartography, to second place winner Mary Anne Smith Sellen for her poem Gardening in the Otherworld and to third place winner Laura Theis for her poem imagine a field. Remarkably, Derek has won the competition twice before, and Mary Anne has won it once. Marcella Remund, shortlisted beneath, is also listed among our alumni competition winners.

The selection was made from 480 entries representing 16 countries. As per usual, winners will read their entries at Ó Bhéal’s 17th anniversary event, during the launch of Five Words Vol XVII (both online and via zoom, on the 8th April 2024), as will many of the commended (other shortlisted) poets and regular five word challenge contributors.

An online version of Five Words Vol XVII is available here.

Congratulations to the shortlisted poets, and our sincere thanks to all who entered!

Shortlist & Winners

against cartography by   Derek Sellen (England) 1st
Gardening in the Otherworld by   Mary Anne Smith Sellen (England) 2nd
imagine a field by   Laura Theis (England) 3rd
Inheritance by   Alison McCrossan (Ireland)
Storm Glass by   Brian Kirk (Ireland)
self-care für unsichtbare by   Laura Theis (England)
To Be Done Before Anything Drastic   by   J.A.Speta (USA)
A Tale for No Tail  by   Mary Louise Kiernan (USA)
Out of the Woods by   Kevin Conroy (Ireland)
Rapture by   Marcella Remund (USA)
For Sam Lawler, Who Used His Gun by   Tracy Newlands (Australia)
Leaving Ursa Minor by   John D. Kelly (N.Ireland)

Judge: Theo Dorgan

The 12th Five Words International Competition will commence at noon on Tuesday the 9th of April 2024, and will continue until the 28th of January 2025.

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.