Munster Slam Championships


Tobias Manderson-Galvin and Tom McCarthy

21 September 2009

18 poets from across Munster competed in two rounds last night at Ó Bhéal to produce this year’s Munster Slam Champ, Tobias Manderson-Galvin, and runner-up, Tom McCarthy. Congratulations to both, who will represent Munster in the 2009 All-Ireland Slam Championships held this year in Galway on the 26th of October. North Beach Nights will be hosting the event, which alternates annually between the four provinces.

Congratulations to all the contestants who were all on top form, Rosalyn Blue, Donna Coogan, John Carmody, Ed O’Dwyer, Marie Coveney, Paddy Doyle, Seamus Harrington, Tobias Manderson-Galvin, Lorcan Murray, Mary O’Connell, Ciaran O’Driscoll, Jonni O’Gorman, Rosie O’Regan, Stephen O’Riordan, Christy Parker, Tom McCarthy, Colm Scully and Patricia Walsh.


Videos of the Evening

Five poems from guest Poet Bernadette Cremin who co-judged the slam

Jack’s Caf



Kaiser Strasse

Perfect Mess

Round 1

Christy Parker
A Love Story

Marie Coveney

Seamus Harrington
The Hunters and Regatta Prayer

Rosalyn Blue

Colm Scully
God’s Football

Lorcan Murray
Skipping Stones

Jonni O’Gorman
Fuck Off Dublin

Mary O’Connell
Royal Flush

John Carmody
Young Guns

Ciaran O’Driscoll
Please Hold

Tobias Manderson-Galvin
Someone Tell Me

Paddy Doyle

Stephen O’Riordan
Slam Poetry

Patricia Walsh
Sugar Fix

Tom McCarthy

Hey Diddle Diddle

Donna Coogan

Round 2

John Carmody
Alfie the Atom who Dared to Dream

Tobias Manderson-Galvin
The Wasp

Lorcan Murray
Searching for Silver

Ciaran O’Driscoll
The Poem I Wrote Today

Tom McCarthy
A Lasting Impression